Kare-Kare (Beef and Ox-tail in peanut sauce)

This was another first for me.  I guess we are learning together!  I know the picture doesn’t looks too attractive.  I couldn’t find any atsuete(annato seeds).  It is a colorant and I guess adds flavor too, so I think it would have looked much better.  Nonetheless, trust that it is one delicious dish.  A couple people have actually mentioned wanting to know how to cook this one (C&M).  I would have some things to do (tweaking) to refine this dish for sure.  I’m sure this is not the last time I will cook it so I will update you when the time comes. In the past, I didn’t think I would like peanut butter sauce with beef but for some reason the ox tail broth pairs very well with the peanut butter and makes some uncannily tasty sauce.  I’m amazed by how many things you can freeze.  The way I see it, if it is saucey or is a soup, it will freeze fine and this is one of those. Have fun and enjoy!

2 1/2 lbs oxtails

1 1/2 lbs bone in beef shank

sauteed shrimp paste on side

1 onion – diced

5 shallots sliced

3/4 head of garlic – minced

1 jar smart balance crunchy natural peanut butter

1/2 cup toasted brown rice – I used my magic bullet to make rice flour

1 lb shanghai bok choy – I think I should have used the regular bok choy instead

1 lb green beans – trimmed

4 asian eggplant – cubed (I was lucky to find Philippine eggplant at Buford Hwy Farmers market that day), if you must, use italian eggplant

2 tbls oil

Add oxtail in 6 cups water – boil, then reduce heat to medium low to simmer 1  1/2 hours to 4 hours ( I let it simmer about 3 hours, enough for the meat to fall off the bones). Skim any scum that rises to the surface, I also skim as much fat that rises to the top.  Set aside when done.

Heat oil in a large pot over medium-high heat.  Sautee garlic, then onions until golden brown, add rice flour, beef, oxtail and peanut butter, and  stock.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 15 minutes

Add eggplant, string beans – (shanghai bokchoy cooks faster so I wait to add it until the other vegetables are almost done)

Serve with the sauteed shrimp paste on the side ( I would have put some of the shrimp paste whie cooking but I buy the premade kind that has msg which some of my tasters don’t consume 😦  ).I instead flavored the dish while in the pot with some fish sauce.  I ate this dish with quinoa substituting for rice.

Leave a Reply

